For KTM rider Lennox Lehmann, the penultimate stop of the World Supersport 300 was in Barcelona. A year ago, he celebrated his debut in the World Supersport 300 here. Throughout the weekend, the Freudenberg KTM - Paligo Racing Team had to contend with changing and cool conditions.

The practice runs on Friday were mixed for Lennox Lehmann. Everything looked very promising. In the first session on Friday morning Lennox achieved his best time of the weekend with 1:55.760 sec. In the second session in the afternoon the asphalt temperatures had risen, but the times of the KTM pilot became slower. In the end he was 15th with a time of 1:56.598 sec.

In the Superpole on Saturday, the times became even slower. For the young man from Dresden nothing wanted to go together in the morning. With his time of 1:58.323 sec. he finished 22nd, so Lennox Lehmann had to start the race from row eight.

The first race on Saturday afternoon got off to a tough start. The Freudenberg driver immediately fell behind. Until the eighth lap, the entire field of riders remained within just 3 seconds of each other. There was a constant change of positions, as is the rule in the World Supersport 300. For Lennox Lehmann, the race was characterized by position changes. It went back and forth. In the end it was 12th place for Lennox.

At the beginning of the second race on Sunday afternoon, the course of the race from the previous day apparently repeated itself. At the beginning Lennox Lehmann dropped back again, but this time the only KTM rider was able to quickly catch up with the leading group. On lap four, pole setter Victor Steeman pulled away from the rest of the field. Two laps before the end Lennox Lehmann started an overtaking maneuver. Within two corners, the Freudenberg driver made the jump from 15th to second place. If the race had ended here, it would have been a spectacular comeback. However, Lennox was unable to pull away. On the start and finish straight, he was overtaken by the other drivers and lost several places - in the end, he finished in 17th place.

The results in Barcelona did not reflect Lennox Lehmann's performance. In Barcelona, the little bit of luck was missing in some situations.

Lennox Lehmann (Freudenberg KTM - Paligo Racing): "Unfortunately not the result I had hoped for. The speed was there and my team did a great job. I just couldn't really put it into practice somehow. Next week we go to Portimao for the final of the World Supersport 300, where we will attack once again."

Please comment and follow me on my social media channels ...

Newest contributions

Für den KTM Piloten Lennox Lehmann, stand der vorletzte Stopp der World Supersport 300 in Barcelona an. Vor einem Jahr feierte er hier sein Debüt in der World Supersport 300. Das ganze Wochenende über hatte das Freudenberg KTM – Paligo Racing Team mit wechselnden und kühlen Bedingungen zu kämpfen.

Die Trainingsläufe am Freitag liefen durchwachsen für Lennox Lehmann. Dabei sah alles sehr vielversprechend aus. In der ersten Session am Freitagmorgen erreichte Lennox mit 1:55.760 sec. seine beste Zeit des Wochenendes. In der zweiten Session am Nachmittag waren zwar die Asphalttemperaturen gestiegen, doch wurden die Zeiten des KTM Piloten langsamer. Am Ende lag er mit einer Zeit von 1:56.598 sec. auf dem 15. Rang.

In der Superpole am Samstag wurden die Zeiten nochmal langsamer. Für den jungen Dresdner wollte am Morgen nichts zusammen gehen. Mit seiner Zeit von 1:58.323 sec. wurde es Platz 22, somit musste Lennox Lehmann aus Startreihe acht in die Rennen gehen.

Das erste Rennen am Samstagnachmittag begann zäh. Der Freudenberg Pilot fiel gleich zurück. Bis zur achten Runde blieb das gesamte Fahrerfeld innerhalb von nur 3 Sekunden. Es war ein ständiger Positionswechsel, wie es in der World Supersport 300 die Regel ist. Für Lennox Lehmann war das Rennen geprägt von Positionswechseln. Es ging vor und zurück. Am Ende wurde es für Lennox Platz 12.

Zu Beginn des zweiten Rennens am Sonntagsnachmittag wiederholte sich augenscheinlich der Rennverlauf vom Vortag. Am Anfang fiel Lennox Lehmann erneut zurück, dieses Mal war es dem einzigen KTM Piloten aber möglich, schnell den Anschluss in die Führungsgruppe zu finden. In Runde vier setzte sich der Pole-Setter Victor Steeman vom restlichen Feld ab. Zwei Runden vor Schluss setzte Lennox Lehmann zum Überholmanöver an. Innerhalb von zwei Kurven schaffte der Freudenberg Pilot den Sprung von Platz 15 auf Platz 2. Wäre das Rennen hier zu Ende gewesen, wäre es ein spektakuläres Comeback geworden. Allerdings konnte sich Lennox nicht absetzen. Auf der Start- und Zielgeraden wurde er von den anderen Fahrer überholt und büßte etliche Plätze ein – am Ende wurde es Platz 17.

Die Ergebnisse in Barcelona spiegelten die Leistungen von Lennox Lehmann nicht wieder. In Barcelona hat in manchen Situationen das Quäntchen Glück gefehlt.

Lennox Lehmann (Freudenberg KTM – Paligo Racing): „Leider nicht das Ergebnis was ich mir erhofft hatte. Der Speed war da und mein Team hat einen super Job gemacht. Ich konnte es nur irgendwie nicht richtig umsetzen. Nächste Woche geht es nach Portimao zum Finale der World Supersport 300. Dort wird noch einmal voll angegriffen.“

Kommentiert und folgt mir bitte auf meinen Social-Media-Kanälen ...

Neueste Beiträge