The World Supersport 300 World Championship ended with the last two rounds in Portimao. The track in the Algarve was new terrain for the sole KTM rider Lennox Lehmann. In addition, the track with its mountain and valley passages offers a very challenging layout.

The practice runs on Friday were mixed for Lennox Lehmann. The Freudenberg team kept making adjustments to the bike, but it didn't quite fit. With times of 1:57.094 in the first practice run and 1:56.909 in the second, Lennox Lehmann found himself in the middle of the World Supersport 300 field.

With his time of 1:56.759 sec. it was in the Superpole on Saturday morning only 26th place, so Lennox Lehmann had to start from row nine in the race. The KTM rider did not feel completely comfortable on his bike, especially in the front. This did not change during the races.

The first race on Saturday afternoon was stopped after a serious accident between Victor Steeman and Jose-Luis Perez and was not continued until late afternoon. In the end, Lennox Lehmann was able to score a point in the shortened race with his 15th place.

Sunday afternoon saw a turbulent start to the second race. While preparing for the start, the officials noticed that the Freudenberg driver's tires were underinflated. After the tires had been given more pressure, Lennox Lehmann had to join the end of the field. In addition, there was now too much pressure in the tire. It was no starting position, for this last race of the season. Due to the cooler temperatures than in the first race in Portimao, the field of riders remained closer together and Lennox Lehmann was able to keep up. In the end, taking into account the track limit penalty, it was a respectable seventh place.

The last two races of the season in Portimao were challenging for the Freudenberg KTM - Paligo Racing Team and Lennox Lehmann, not only physically but also psychologically.

Lennox Lehmann (Freudenberg KTM - Paligo Racing): "It was a difficult weekend. On and off the track. Nevertheless, I am quite satisfied with the second race. To ride from the very back to 7th place is not so bad. I wish Victor still a lot of strength and hope that we hear soon good news from the hospital."

Please comment and follow me on my social media channels ...

Newest contributions

Die World Supersport 300 Weltmeisterschaft endete mit den letzten beiden Läufen in Portimao. Die Strecke an der Algarve war für den alleinigen KTM Piloten Lennox Lehmann neues Terrain. Zudem bietet die Strecke mit seinen Berg- und Tal Passagen ein sehr herausforderndes Layout.

Die Trainingsläufe am Freitag liefen durchwachsen für Lennox Lehmann. Das Freudenberg Team nahm immer wieder Einstellungen am Motorrad vor, doch es wollte nicht so recht passen. Mit Zeiten von 1:57.094 im ersten Trainingslauf und einer 1:56.909 im Zweiten, befand sich Lennox Lehmann im Mittelfeld des World Supersport 300 Feldes wieder.

Mit seiner Zeit von 1:56.759 sec. wurde es in der Superpole am Samstagvormittag nur Startplatz 26. Somit musste Lennox Lehmann aus Startreihe neun in die Rennen gehen. Der KTM Pilot  fühlte sich auf seinem Motorrad nicht ganz wohl, vor allem im vorderen Bereich. Das änderte sich auch nicht während den Rennen.

Das erste Rennen am Samstagnachmittag wurde nach einem schweren Unfall zwischen Victor Steeman und Jose-Luis Perez abgebrochen und erst am späten Nachmittag fortgesetzt. Am Ende konnte Lennox Lehmann im verkürzten Rennen mit seinem 15. Platz einen Punkt einfahren.

Am Sonntagnachmittag ging es turbulent in das zweite Rennen. Während der Vorbereitung zum Start stellten die Offiziellen fest, dass bei dem Freudenberg Piloten zu wenig Reifendruck vorhanden war. Nachdem der Reifen mehr Druck bekommen hatten, musste sich Lennox Lehmann ans Ende des Fahrerfeldes einreihen. Hinzu kam, dass sich nun zu viel Druck in dem Reifen befand. Es war keine Ausgangslage, für dieses letzte Rennen der Saison. Durch die kühleren Temperaturen als bei dem ersten Rennen in Portimao, blieb das Fahrerfeld enger zusammen und Lennox Lehmann war es möglich dranzubleiben. Am Ende unter Beachtung der Track Limit Strafe, wurde es ein respektabler siebter Platz.

Die beiden letzten Saisonrennen in Portimao waren herausfordernd für das Freudenberg KTM – Paligo Racing Team und Lennox Lehmann, nicht nur physisch sondern auch psychisch.

Lennox Lehmann (Freudenberg KTM – Paligo Racing): „Es war ein schwieriges Wochenende. Auf und neben der Strecke. Mit dem zweiten Rennen bin ich dennoch ganz zufrieden. Von ganz hinten auf Platz 7 zu fahren ist nicht so schlecht. Ich wünsche Victor noch viel Kraft und hoffe das wir bald gute Nachrichten aus dem Krankenhaus hören.“

Kommentiert und folgt mir bitte auf meinen Social-Media-Kanälen ...

Neueste Beiträge